Image for news article entitled Candidates announced

Candidates announced

Published : 08/07/2019

The candidates nominated to contest the poll in the Downs North Ward for election to Ashford Borough Council have been announced.

They are Rachael Amanda Carley (Ashford Independent), Charles Edward Dehnel (Conservatives), Adrian John Gee-Turner (Liberal Democrats), Geoff Meaden (Green Party), Philip David Meads (UKIP), Carly Jan Ruppert Lingham (Labour) and Sarah Mary Williams (Independent).

They are hoping to be elected to the borough council when local voters go to the polls on Thursday 18 July.

Four polling stations being used. They are Chilham Village Hall in Maidstone Road, Chilham; the Methodist Church in Selling Road, Old Wives Lees; Molash Village Hall in Pound Lane, Molash; and Godmersham & Crundale Recreation Hall, The Street, Godmersham. The polls are open from 7am to 10pm.

The election has been prompted following the death of Cllr Stephen Dehnel on 24 May.